ThinkPad T14s Gen 4 with Fedora

ThinkPad T14s Gen 4 with Fedora

In the last month, I was thinking about buying a new work notebook. I'm a Ruby on Rails developer and also a Linux fan, and I use Docker heavily. My old Dell Latitude 5401 was ok, but I started to feel that some tasks took longer than necessary (for example, operating system start after installing a new kernel), and I had issues with the Nvidia card as well and sometimes heating problems. Last but not least, I want to start recording tutorial videos in 4k and my old notebook couldn't handle it.

My requirements for the new notebook were:

  • At least 32GB RAM

  • At least 1TB SSD - Docker images can be pretty big

  • Performant CPU

  • Decent GPU - to handle 4k video recording at 30 FPS

  • Linux compatible - this eliminates a lot choices

My choice settled on the AMD version of ThinkPad T14s. First, let's look at the decisions I had to make and which led me to this choice.

Macbook or not?

So, I have to make a decision if I want to stay on Linux with my beloved Fedora or if I should try a Macbook. I like the new Apple ARM processors but I've never tried macOS before. I'm actually pretty happy with Fedora and I'm super productive in the Gnome environment. I like the "one key does all" approach and its keyboard-centric approach just works for me.

Here is the list of some pros and cons for going the Apple way:

Pros

  • Apple M chips are fast and super silent

  • Battery life of Macbook is unmatched

  • Apple ecosystem - I own iPhone so sync between devices would be better

Cons

  • Price - in my country, the specs I want cost around €3500 and the new notebook cost me about €1600

  • macOS

    • I would have to install a lot of software to be as usable as Gnome

    • Learn new keyboard shortcuts

    • Not native Docker

After weighing the pros and cons, I decided to ditch the Apple way. Mostly because of macOS which I think wouldn't work for me and concerns about loss of productivity.

Intel or AMD version?

My choice was between Core i7 1355U and Ryzen 7 7840U. I've hear great things about new AMD Ryzen CPUs combined with 3nm process and their power efficiency.

AMD support on Linux is actually pretty good not only for their graphics but for their GPUs too. According to tests, the integrated AMD Radeon 780M is more powerful than Intel Iris Xe Graphic. Combine it with the reality that the Intel version costs about €500 more and I had a winner.

T14s or T14?

The main difference between these two is that T14 has an RJ45 port, it's a little bit thicker and is around 100 grams heavier. I've found that T14 could have about 5% better performance in the long run due to better cooling.

I've decided for T14s mainly for these reasons:

  • Aesthetically I like it more. It's pleasantly thin and looks almost like an ultrabook

  • Most of the time I'm connected to the internet through Wi-Fi and both monitors, at home and in the office, have an RJ45 connector, so all I need is one USB-C connector

  • Bigger battery, so I can be up a little bit longer

  • T14s was in stock and for T14 I would have to wait 1 month

Fedora compatibility

I can compare it to my old notebook, Latitude 5401. The installation process was smooth and everything worked as expected. After installation, I was surprised - everything worked out of the box. No need to install third-party packages and follow complicated instructions to get the GPU usable (I'm looking at you, Nvidia).

After a month of use, I can say that everything is working as expected. Suspend - Resume is working really fast - the OS is ready before I open the lid. My Dell problem after suspend when the fan was still running a minute later - gone.

I have to say that most of the time, the fan is running about 2500 rpm and at this speed, it's almost silent.

The AMD chip is super fast, a cold start after a new kernel installation takes only a few seconds compared to the old notebook.

Conclusion

So, that was my journey to a new notebook. I've written this article because there was not much information about gen 4 ThinkPads and how they behave under Linux.

If you are in process of buying a new laptop, maybe this will help you to decide. For more question feel free to ask in the comments.